What Time Zone Do Cities in Indiana Follow?

Indiana is generally in the Eastern Time Zone, except for 12 counties in the western corner border regions, which are in the Central Time Zone. Cities in the Eastern Standard Time Zone include South Bend, Granger, Goshen, Angola, Auburn, Plymouth, Warsaw, Fort Wayne, Rochester, Bluffton, Peru, Logansport, Monticello, Kokomo, Lafayette, Frankfort, Muncie, Indianapolis, Richmond, Terre Haute, Bloominton, Columbus, Linton, Bedford, Seymour, North Vemon, New Albany and Vincennes. Cities in the Central Standard Time Zone include Gary, Princeton, Evansville, Boonville and Tell City. Daylight Saving Time is observed in Indiana during the summer months.

Most of the state follows Eastern Daylight Time (EDT), while the upper and lower corner regions observe Central Summer Time (CDT). In the late 1940s, the use of Daylight Saving Time (DST), also known as Fast Time, became popular in cities. Indiana is officially in the Central Time Zone but some communities choose to follow Fast Time throughout the year. This essentially aligns them with the Eastern Time Zone.

Indiana is divided into two time zones: most of the state including Indianapolis and Fort Wayne are in the Eastern Time Zone and observe Daylight Saving Time. This means that there are two different clocks depending on the time of year.

Reuben Macedonio
Reuben Macedonio

Unapologetic food aficionado. Total social media scholar. Hipster-friendly zombie ninja. Award-winning twitter nerd. Subtly charming tv scholar.